Smooth patch transition?

Questions about your PC3/PC3K/PC3LE/SP4/SP5 keyboard? Somebody might have the answers here.

Smooth patch transition?

Postby phingahz » Wed Oct 23, 2019 10:51 pm

Does the Forte have "smooth patch transition" from patch to multi or patch to patch?

Thanks
phingahz
House mouse
House mouse
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 4:22 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Smooth patch transition?

Postby hipogrito » Thu Oct 24, 2019 1:42 pm

Hi,

Yes but it has restrictions.

In order to have smooth transitions you need to leave enough FX units available for the next program or multi to load its FXs without killing the FXs of the previous program or multi. We let you use all the FX units of the machine (32) in one program if you want to but then you will not have a smooth transition. Because we give this freedom, people tend to put more FXs that are needed into their programs. We have some very efficient FXs that with very few units can do lots of common stuff. If you use those or your programs or multis share FXs chains, you can have a nice smooth experience.

Making sure that the gain of your programs is uniform is also an important issue to have a smooth transition.

Broadway musicals that use our keyboards, like the Forte, are masters in using just what they need in their programs and multis so that the transition is smooth in their shows. And they do hundreds of transitions in a single show!!!

Other companies do it differently. They restrict what you can do in a program, so that they can have available resources for the next program. We prefer to give you the freedom to choose.
Regards,

Fran
http://www.hipogrito.com
Yes I work at Kurzweil but anything I write here is just on behalf of myself, not the company.
User avatar
hipogrito
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1077
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 12:43 pm
Has thanked: 1524 times
Have thanks: 368 times

Re: Smooth patch transition?

Postby phingahz » Thu Oct 24, 2019 7:39 pm

Thanks Fran, I just purchased a Forte 7 & looking forward to working with it. It's a beast that has so many possibilities.

For this message the author phingahz has received thanks:
hipogrito (Mon Oct 28, 2019 3:51 pm)
Rating: 1.39%
 
phingahz
House mouse
House mouse
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 4:22 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Smooth patch transition?

Postby hipogrito » Mon Oct 28, 2019 3:52 pm

For those of you getting a Forte or a PC4, please join the Beta community.

forte_beta@ycrdi.com
pc4_beta@ycrdi.com
Regards,

Fran
http://www.hipogrito.com
Yes I work at Kurzweil but anything I write here is just on behalf of myself, not the company.
User avatar
hipogrito
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1077
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 12:43 pm
Has thanked: 1524 times
Have thanks: 368 times

Re: Smooth patch transition?

Postby geoela » Tue Oct 29, 2019 6:54 am

I will be moving to one of these as soon as I sell my PC3K8 with Kore64 and Gator case.
geoela
Pub parrot
Pub parrot
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 2:43 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Smooth patch transition?

Postby anotherscott » Mon Nov 04, 2019 7:35 pm

I've seen that some models have downloadable Objects Lists, that provide list of all the available Effects, Effects Chains, Programs, and Setups/Multis. But does anyone have a version of this list that includes how many "effects units" each of these individual effects, effect chains, programs, and multis/setups take? I think that could be a real time save if you're trying to assemble programs or multis/setups that you know won't exceed maximums, or won't glitch during seamless transitions.
anotherscott
House mouse
House mouse
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 10:25 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Have thanks: 0 time

Re: Smooth patch transition?

Postby cecchino » Tue Nov 05, 2019 3:04 am

Talking about PC3 series, if you go to the Mastering VAST forum you may still find the ToolBox, a software developed in Java which reads the .PC3, .P3K etc. files and shows info also on the number of fx units used.
You will probably have to subscribe.
cecchino
Disco dog
Disco dog
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 11:10 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Have thanks: 15 times

Re: Smooth patch transition?

Postby mikeh11 » Tue Nov 05, 2019 8:49 pm

does anyone have a version of this list that includes how many "effects units" each of these ... take?

I attached a file f301pau.zip which lists the FX algorithm and chain objects in the Forte 3.01 object file.
It includes the number of PAUs for each algorithm and total PAUs for the chain.
What about FX presets? That requires a little more work - not a quick cut and paste of existing output.
Attachments
f301pau.zip
Forte 3.01 FX algo and chains with #PAUs
(21.24 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
PC3LE6 2.26 | K2000R 3.87J | MBP 2012 macOS 10.12.6
mikeh11
Disco dog
Disco dog
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 8:49 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Have thanks: 28 times


Return to Kurzweil Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


cron