PC3LE - Made a setup, no sound

Questions about your PC3/PC3K/PC3LE/SP4/SP5 keyboard? Somebody might have the answers here.

PC3LE - Made a setup, no sound

Postby dischneider » Sat Nov 02, 2019 4:00 pm

Hi,

there is a user program, working and playing fine at program mode.
Now I added a midi file containing a riff and want to use this.

So I created a setup with only one single zone.
The program is assigned but plays no sound, both with keys and with riff.
Assigned midi channel is 1 but where are the keyboard and the riff sending?

Need some suggestions.

Thank you

Dirk
currently: Kurzweil PC3LE8, Korg N5
previous: Yamaha DX7, Korg DW-6000, Yamaha SY22, Akai sg01p
dischneider
Pub parrot
Pub parrot
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 11:30 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 3 times

Re: PC3LE - Made a setup, no sound

Postby cecchino » Sun Nov 03, 2019 2:37 am

Do you have any continuous pedal connected? And did you check the entry values for cpedals (mainly those assigned to expression and volume CCs) ? It may happen you did not assign any CC to a pedal, the exit value for expression and/or volume of your previously program / zone on the same midi channel was 0 and you do not hear anything.

For this message the author cecchino has received thanks:
dischneider (Sun Nov 03, 2019 2:35 pm)
Rating: 1.39%
 
cecchino
Disco dog
Disco dog
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 11:10 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Have thanks: 15 times

Re: PC3LE - Made a setup, no sound

Postby dischneider » Sun Nov 03, 2019 10:05 am

Thanks for your suggestion, cecchino.
Yes, I have a CC pedal but not assigned in this setup, I use it in some cases to fade in or out some parts of the sound, not in this setup.

What happened is, that as I removed the RIFF from the song the sound is played like expected!
So I added the RIFF again and the sound is still playing.
No idea what matters. But the RIFF isn't playing.

In song mode, it is a song with two midi tracks, first a drum pattern and second the RIFF I want to use. Playing in song mode works well.

I tried to add a second zone to my setup, one for the RIFF and one for my own playing because I thought about RIFF not usable in a playable zone, but I expect I was wrong.
If I add another song as riff like in other setups it will be unplayed too.

I added the RIFF to the zone, with the RIFF added as a loop. And I used the Drum Pad 1 to assign start and stop. If I press the DrumPad it is lighted in blue like expected, the display tells me playing the riff. If I press again the light goes out and the display tells riff stopped.

But not a piece of sound.
Where is my fault? What I am doing wrong?

Any help?

Dirk
currently: Kurzweil PC3LE8, Korg N5
previous: Yamaha DX7, Korg DW-6000, Yamaha SY22, Akai sg01p
dischneider
Pub parrot
Pub parrot
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 11:30 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 3 times

Re: PC3LE - Made a setup, no sound

Postby hipogrito » Mon Nov 04, 2019 3:02 pm

Check that the destination has the LOCAL on it... it might be sending stuff just via MIDI...

Also check that the Riff does not have MIDI Volume or Expression as 0 somewhere in there...
Regards,

Fran
http://www.hipogrito.com
Yes I work at Kurzweil but anything I write here is just on behalf of myself, not the company.
User avatar
hipogrito
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1077
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 12:43 pm
Has thanked: 1524 times
Have thanks: 368 times

Re: PC3LE - Made a setup, no sound

Postby dischneider » Tue Nov 05, 2019 12:24 am

I found the resolution, the starting parameters had a sync entry - but not a syncing source.
It's my very first try with a self written midi file as riff.

Thanks for your help!

Is there a way to modify the midi data within the pc3le or have I to do it external, maybe at my mac?

Dirk
currently: Kurzweil PC3LE8, Korg N5
previous: Yamaha DX7, Korg DW-6000, Yamaha SY22, Akai sg01p

For this message the author dischneider has received thanks:
hipogrito (Wed Nov 06, 2019 11:46 am)
Rating: 1.39%
 
dischneider
Pub parrot
Pub parrot
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 11:30 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 3 times

Re: PC3LE - Made a setup, no sound

Postby hipogrito » Wed Nov 06, 2019 11:47 am

For Song Mode details, please read Chapter 13 of the PC3LE manual, lots of good stuff there:

http://kurzweil.com/content/migration/d ... ide-V3.pdf
Regards,

Fran
http://www.hipogrito.com
Yes I work at Kurzweil but anything I write here is just on behalf of myself, not the company.
User avatar
hipogrito
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1077
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 12:43 pm
Has thanked: 1524 times
Have thanks: 368 times


Return to Kurzweil Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


cron