Clear all

Help with midi

10 Posts
4 Users
2 Likes
David Heath
(@david-heath)
Topic starter

Hi all, I'm new to this and having just bought a PC3 k 61 was hoping someone to give me any tips on loading midi files and playing them back. I've managed to load one from a pen drive (I think) but can't find it now to play it back, I've consulted the manual but it doesn't seem to reference this. Any clues as to where the midi file might have gone anyone? 

Posted : 11/10/2020 8:08 pm
happyrat1
(@happyrat1)
Estimable Member

I own a PC3K8 and personally if I want to play a GM file I'll load it up on the computer and let the computer play it back thru the Kurzweil's USB MIDI port.

Same thing for general sequencing.  I've basically ignored the onboard sequencer, preferring instead to compose and play back with a DAW Sequencer like Cakewalk By Bandlab.

Gary 😉

Posted : 11/10/2020 9:29 pm
David Heath
(@david-heath)
Topic starter

thanks Gary, it's a learning curve for me so I'll keep trying to load a midi file into the machine and play it back as well as change some of the programs/sounds in it

Posted : 11/10/2020 9:48 pm
mikeh11
(@mikeh11)
Trusted Member

I've got a PC3LE, so things are a little different. But reading the PC3 Musician's Guide, it seems like you could do one of these to find your song:

- go to Storage mode, and try to export a song. It will show you all the user songs. Yours should be in that list.

- go to Song mode, and scroll through all the songs (ugh)

- go to Master mode, and pretend to delete an object, and select by Type (pick the user's songs). Again, your loaded song should be in the list.

The Musician's Guide has large chapters on both Song mode and Storage mode, so it's easy to not find what we're looking for.

K2000R 3.87J | MBP 2012 macOS 10.14.6

Posted : 19/10/2020 12:46 am
Marksikt reacted
David Heath
(@david-heath)
Topic starter