Synthesis VAST. Synthesis power of Kurzweil pc3k

9 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
hebert
(@hebert)
Eminent Member
Topic starter

Personal I am new with Kurzweil instruments, I already had yamaha, roland and I have a nord.

VAST synthesis looks very complicated.

What is the capacity of VAST synthesis?

How is it seen today in relation to other types of synthesis?

Does the fort use the same synthesis?

Posted : 18/07/2019 11:33 am
jankob
(@jankob)
Trusted Member

Hi, VAST is IMHO the most powerfull virtual synthesis architecture in these days. Just compare Montage´s architecture with Forte´s and you will see (eg. 32 layers per program & cascading of layers vs. 8 parts per program, realtime controling of as many parameters as you want, routing samples into VAST combined with virtual analog, 16 fx units (PC3/K; Forte has 32) vs. 2 insert effects per program in Montage, ...). Also consider Forte is getting new OS4 with FM synthesis implemented into VAST :ugeek:
PC3/K/LE, Forte use the same architecture.

BTW - look at Mastering VAST forum. There is the most of VAST knowledge from VAST masters: https://forums.godlike.com.au/

Posted : 19/07/2019 1:08 am
hebert
(@hebert)
Eminent Member
Topic starter

Thank you, I did not know that.

very cool, I just bought a new PC3K, and I was not getting used to the internal sounds. But I downloaded several very good presets here.

I want to learn how to program VAST.

I almost got the MOTIF XF in place of PC3K6.

What is the difference of VAST from PC3k and VAST from Forte?

Posted : 19/07/2019 5:46 am
jankob
(@jankob)
Trusted Member

The architecture is almost the same. Forte´s has some features from PC3LE series (eg. Parameter page), plus some new features.
Just compare user PC3K´s user manual and Forte´s ;)

Posted : 22/07/2019 1:10 am
JB107048
(@jb107048)
Eminent Member

VAST takes time to learn, and practice.
HOWEVER: