Clear all

Using Sustain Pedal with Organs

9 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
DaveintheD
(@daveinthed)
Topic starter

I have the PC3K8. All of the organs are programmed to use the sustain pedal as a Leslie speaker on/off switch. This is great for some applications. What about a set-up where you want to use the sustain pedal for sustaining the organ? Please don't tell me that no one should ever sustain an organ because in a set-up it comes in handy.

Please help. Thank you.

Posted : 13/06/2012 10:50 am
fran
 fran
(@fran)
Noble Member

Hi,

It is very easy to change your KB3 programs to use the sustain pedal.

Ex:

Program 49
Edit
MISC page
Sustain - On
Save it.

I am also guilty of sustaining KB3 programs... but hey, I am just a software engineer :lol:

Regards,
Fran

Posted : 14/06/2012 12:18 pm
DaveintheD
(@daveinthed)
Topic starter

Thanks for that. Unfortunately, while it does add sustain, it doesn't remove the Leslie from the effect...so every time you sustain, you are either activating or deactivating the Leslie. You can shut it off. So then, I'd like to add the Leslie to "aftertouch" but can't figure a way to do it...nor can I even find a way to route the Leslie to a button when you use a KB3 program in a set-up. In program mode, when you turn the sustain pedal on for a KB3 program (and turn the Leslie off from the pedal), it works perfectly fine. You can use the bottons in the top left corner to add the Leslie whenever needed. BUT, when you plug the organ (that was already edited to allow for sustain) into a set-up mode, you can't access the Leslie buttons, or if you can, I don't know how to.

Get what I'm saying? Your solution works fine when playing a KB3 program in program mode.....but the whole point for me, anyway, is that having a sustain on an organ within a set-up comes in handy at times. And for that, I'm still struggling to figure this out.

Posted : 15/06/2012 11:17 am
philskeys
(@philskeys)
Trusted Member

Dave, try this: