31 Posts
21 Users
0 Likes
24.5 K Views
lfo
 lfo
(@lfo)

Hi Kaffi!

Thanks for sharing your PC3 sounds, awesome!

I am new to Kurzweils, and have recently bought myself a K2000RS w. 64Mb RAM and PRAM option.
I bought a Kurz mostly because I am interested in the VAST architecture, and the sounds it can produce.
Have been looking to purchase a PC3x in good condition, but wonder if I can get similar sounds out of my K2000?
I understand that the K2000 lacks KDFX, but i have outboard FX to cover that area if needed.

Would you mind sharing your original K2000 sounds, so I can make my mind up if I really need to go for a PC3x?

Thanks again!

/Simon

Posted : 26/02/2015 3:11 am
Kaffimusic
(@kaffimusic)
Reputable Member
Topic starter

Hi, well... I own a K2000. I bought it roughly 6 month before I bought my PC361. In fact the K2 made me buy a PC3. I have a diskette where I have put together what I found and liked. I really just tweaked a little bit on those sounds, mostly the effects section. In fact I did not program much on it, I started with that on the PC3.
With the K2, I spent some time to browse old stuff that good people had put on the net and loaded it into my K2. I recommend beginning with the stock sets that were released with later versions of the K2. Mine is the most basic first hardware-version, but I managed to load later soundsets into it. Some interesting stuff there - you can see how programming on this machine evolved and sounds became better and better.
I used some of those sounds to experiment with porting over to the PC3 and got some experience with tweaking them there to sound good and somewhat maintain their character. But is sounds slighly different on the K2. Did you check my video "Slow ride"? The only song I did on the K2, it demos the soundcharacteristics of this one.

Posted : 26/02/2015 12:36 pm
lfo
 lfo
(@lfo)

Hi,

Just watched it, great song!
Ok, I will have to search the net for some good sounds then.